EALR alumni earn administrative posts for 2018

EALR alumnus Adam Hatcher, new principal of Greenwood High School

Summer means schools and districts are hiring new administrative positions, and as usual many alumni from WKU’s Department of Educational Administration, Leadership, and Research have been appointed as principal, assistant principal, and to other leadership positions. Appointments include the following, and will be updated as new hires are announced:

  • Adam Hatcher (Principal MAE, ’08), principal of Greenwood High School (Warren County Schools).
  • David Carmichael (Principal Rank I, ’16), principal of Todd County Middle School.
  • Jeremy Camron (Principal MAE, ’06), head teacher for the Owensboro Day Treatment Center.
  • Josh Basham (Principal Rank I, ’18), principal of Grayson County’s Alternative Education Center.
  • Josh Baldwin (Principal MAE, ’13), principal of Grayson County High School.
  • William Sims (Principal Certification, ’17), assistant principal of Southern Pulaski Middle School.
  • Kadi Ralston (Principal Certification, ’15), literacy grants coach and coordinator for the Christian County Schools.
  • Jaxon Grover (Principal MAE, ’09; DPP Rank I, ’16), principal of Franklin-Simpson Middle School.
  • Jimmy Felty (Principal Certification, ’17), principal of Morgantown Elementary School (Butler County Schools).
  • Updated, 7/12/18: Joni Britt (Principal Rank I, ’14), principal of North Bullitt High School.
  • Updated, 7/12/18: Christine Sherretz (Principal Certification, ’16), principal of Johnson Primary School, Camp Lejeune, North Carolina (U.S. Department of Defense).
  • Updated, 7/20/18: Jonathan Devore (Principal Certification ’17), assistant principal, Barren County Middle School.
  • Updated, 8/4/18: Kendra Bronsink (Principal Certification, ’17), District Literacy Coach, Daviess County Schools.
  • Updated, 8/6/18: Kristin Froedge (Supervisor of Instruction Certification, ’17), supervisor of instruction, Hart County Schools.
  • Updated, 8/6/18: Krista Thompson (Principal Certification, ’16), assistant principal, Sutton Elementary School, Owensboro Public Schools.
  • Updated, 8/7/18: Beth Blandford (Principal Certification, ’16), assistant principal, Foust Elementary School, Owensboro Public Schools.
  • Updated, 8/9/18: Jonathan Vaughn (Principal Rank I, ’16), dean of students, Warren East High School.
  • Updated, 8/15/18: Debbie Bradshaw (Prinicipal Certification, ’16), principal, Adair County Primary Center.

We will continue to update this post with additional hiring announcements as they become available. Please contact Dr. Gary Houchens (gary.houchens@wku.edu) if you are aware of alumni news and we will share on social media.

Houchens, Stewart, Jennings recognized in 2018 Emerald Literati Awards

Two EALR professors and a WKU doctoral student were recently recognized in the 2018 Emerald Literati Awards. The awards, now in their 25th year, celebrate outstanding scholarship appearing in research journals issued by Emerald Publishing.

Professor Gary Houchens, Associate Professor Tom Stewart, and EALR alumna and doctoral student Sara Jennings wrote a 2017 article for the International Journal of Mentoring and Coaching in Education entitled, “Enhancing Instructional Leadership Through Collaborative Coaching: A Multi-Case Study.” The editors of the journal selected this article as one of two Highly Commended Papers for 2018. Papers are selected according to several criteria including rigor, relevance, structure, quality of writing, and up-to-date contributions to literature in the topic area.

Earlier collaborations on leadership coaching for school principals featuring EALR and other College of Educational and Behavioral Sciences contributors appeared in Qualitative Research in Education in 2014 and are based on a framework Dr. Houchens first laid out in the Journal of Thought in 2009.

Congratulations to Drs. Houchens and Stewart and to doctoral candidate Sara Jennings!